Home » India

P. Sathiyaselvam and Dhruv Verma

Asian Waterbird Census [email protected]

The AWC in India is jointly coordinated nationally by the Bombay Natural History Society and Wetlands International South Asia. State coordinators are responsible for counts in their respective states.

Dr. P. Sathiyaselvam
p.sathiyaselvam @
Hornbill House, Lion Gate
Dr. Salim Ali Chowk, S.B. Singh Road
Mumbai- 400 023
Tel: +91-22-2284-3421, Fax: +91-22-2283-7615
Bombay Natural History Society


Mr. Dhruv Verma
dhruv.verma @
A-25, 2nd Floor, Defence Colony
Tel: +91 11 2433 8906, 4603 8906
Wetlands International South Asia

Data related queries should be directed to [email protected] and [email protected]

State Coordinators of the Asian Waterbird Census in India

Andaman and Nicobar – Dr. C. Sivaperuman, Scientist-E & Officer-in-Charge, Zoological Survey of India, Andaman & Nicobar Regional Centre, Port Blair – 744 102, Telephone: 91-3192-237582 / 230115 (Telefax) ; [email protected]

Andhra Pradesh & Telangana – Mr Humayun Taher, Deccan Birders, [email protected]

Assam – Prof. Prasanta Kumar Saikia , Department of Zoology, Gauhati University, Gopinath Bardoloi Nagar, Jalukbari, Guwahati, Assam, 781014 [email protected]

Bihar – Mr Arvind Mishra, Member Executive, Mandar Nature Club, Anand Chikitsalaya Road, Bhagarpur – 812002; [email protected] / [email protected]

Chhattisgarh – Mr Arun Bharos, Chhattisgarh Wildlife Society, B-101 Gayatri Nagar, P.O.Shankar Nagar, Raipur [email protected]

Delhi – Mr Tarun K. Roy, 3/3A, Street No.5, K-Block, Gangotri Vihar, Delhi – 110053 [email protected] and [email protected]

Goa – Dr. Pronoy Baidya, Vice President- Goa Bird Conservation Network, C/o Architecture R/T 2S2, Edicon Enclave, Vasudha Colony, Lane-1, Alto – St Cruz, Bambolim; [email protected]/ [email protected] Website:

Gujarat – Dhaval Vargiya (Institute of Environment Education and Research Bharati Vidyapeeth University, Pune) [email protected] & Dishant Parasharya (Bombay Natural History Society) [email protected]

Haryana – Dr. Rajiv Kalsi, Associate Professor, Department of  Zoology, M.L.N. College, Yamuna Nagar, Haryana 135001; [email protected]

Himachal Pradesh – Mr. DS Dadwal, Divisional Forest Officer, WL Dharamshala, Himachal Pradesh Forest Department. [email protected]

Jammu & Kashmir – Dr. Pankaj Chandan [email protected]

Jharkhand – Mr Satya Prakash, Neo Human Foundation,Vision Enclave-I Flat No 104, New Forest Colony, Hurhuru, Hazaribag – 825 301 [email protected]

Karnataka – Dr S. Subramanya, HPHT Scheme, ‘J’ Block, University of Agricultural Sciences, GKVK, Bengaluru – 560 065; [email protected]

Kerala – Dr P. O. Nameer, Asst. Professor Dept. of Wildlife Sciences, College of Forestry, Kerala Agricultural University Kau (PO). Thrissur – 680 656; [email protected]

Maharashtra – Dr Anil B Pimplapure, Sec. Academy, VNHS Centre Nagpur, Q – 12, Siddhivinayak Apartments, Laxminagar, Nagpur 44 00 22; [email protected]

North East states (other than Assam) – Dr Anwaruddin Chowdhury, C/o Mr. Alauddin Choudhury, Near Gate No. 1 of Nehru Stadium, Islampur Road, Guwahati – 781 007; [email protected]

Odisha – Monalisa Bhujabal, Secretary Wild Orissa, Plot 3A Satya Nagar, Janpath, Bhubaneswar, Odisha. 751001. [email protected]

Punjab – Ms Gitanjali Kanwar, WWF-India Harike Field Office, Harike Bird Sanctuary, C/o Range Office, Harike, Tarn Taran, Punjab, 143 412; [email protected]

Tamil Nadu – Mr KV Sudhakar, No 10, South Leith Castle Street, Santhome, Chennai 600 028; [email protected] and [email protected]

Uttar Pradesh – Neeraj Srivastava, Flat No. 303, Kumar Enclave, Wazir Hasan Road, Lucknow; [email protected]

West Bengal – Dr. Rudraprasad Das, Member of the Executive Committee, Prakriti Samsad [email protected]

For other states, kindly contact [email protected]